Back From the Dead?: The Fades

The Fades Could Return?

Prayer circle in motion, join us!

Writer Jack Thorne has revealed that The Fades could still return for a second series, despite being axed by BBC Three earlier this year. The show’s official Twitter feed announced in April: “With a heavy heart we have to tell you that we won’t be back for another series. You’re all amazing, we couldn’t have hoped for better fans.”

However, speaking to A Younger Theatre today, Thorne commented: “I don’t know what’s going to happen; there is a possibility [it will be brought back]. I’d love for it to come back, as I’ve still got stories to tell.”
He continued: “I’m not particularly bitter about it. When it came down to it, it was between Being Human and The Fades [to be kept] and they chose Being Human. I can’t complain because it is a great show. It happened when there were massive cutbacks, so the drama budget was halved and they could only keep one long-running series.”

The Fades launched last September, starring Iain De Caestecker (Coronation Street), Daniel Kaluuya (Skins) and Johnny Harris (This is England ’86) and picked up the award for Best Drama Series at the BAFTAslast month. Speaking exclusively to CultBox last year, actor Tom Ellis commented: “What I recognise about this show is that each episode ends and you just go ‘I want do know more!’. I think you’re left like that at the end of the series, so as an actor and as a viewer I’d be intrigued to see where it goes in a second series.”

When you win the BAFTA for Best Drama Series the guys in charge have to sit up and take notice! If this actually happens I will legit be too excited to speak. I have every single finger crossed right now! For once I hope Joe Dempsie won’t be more available for Game of Thrones– The Fades needs you Joe!

Source: Cultbox

Leave a comment

Filed under News- TV

Leave a Reply

