The Newsroom

So I’ve been watching The Newsroom and I quite like it! It’s terribly written and some characters are terribly acted (Mac, I’m looking so hard in your direction gurl!). Yes, Aaron Sorkin is a bit of a twit, and his Charlie Skinner is the biggest Mary-Sue committed to screen (Wil McAvoy his agreeable sockpuppet)  but I don’t begrudge him too hard for it because maybe, just maybe, The Newsroom will open a few more eyes to the biased news-tainment fuckery currently playing out on a daily basis in America.  I think it’s joined a conversation The Daily Show and The Colbert Report have been having for the last 10-years or so. Hopefully it will go some way to re-educating (or inspiring some self-education in) a few lost souls not yet shown the light by Stewart and Colbert.

But don’t take my word for it. The Newsroom‘s Thomas Sadoski is as bipartisan as the news his show aims to produce:

Vulture: What has it been like for the cast, reading those early reviews? On Twitter, the actors are a little defensive, and with good reason.
TS: Yeah, I mean, it’s hard to avoid the vitriol that came out in regards to the show when we first started. But listen, you’re talking to a guy who’s worked with Neil LaBute. I’m used to work that I’m in causing a stir and getting a very specific reaction. I don’t think anybody who dislikes our show is any less intelligent or any less worthwhile than anyone who does. I’m proud of it. I obviously have a dog in this fight, so it’s hard for me to be objective, but I appreciate honest criticism. I don’t appreciate takedown pieces or criticism for the sake of trying to prove how smart and clever you can be with the amount of awful things you can say about a person. What it comes down to is this: We as a group, meaning from the top down, Scott Rudin to Aaron to Jeff, all of our directors, the entirety of the cast and most of the crew, we’re all nerds. Like, really big nerds. We’re used to having the cool kids kick the shit out of us. Frankly, I’m actually okay with it. I know HBO is proud of the size of our audience because we’ve been renewed. People who want to hate on us are going to hate on us. At least they watched.

Remember kids- BBC World 4lyfe. And always check the facts yourself.

Source: A Neon Dreams Original Opinion!
Quote: Vulture (TS also talks the Don/Jim/Maggie triangle and other character stuff, if that’s your bag)

Leave a comment

Filed under News- TV, Review

Leave a Reply

